TREATMENTS / Focal therapy for prostatic cancers

Diagnoses relating to prostatic cancers have become increasingly precise and effective the last few years thanks to on one side the development of MRI and on the other a better efficiency in the bioptic measures, fusion biopsies and MRI biopsies.

The ability of obtaining a precise mapping of the prostate allows among other things to planify the focal treatments of prostatic tumours. Contrarily to previous approaches, this one consists in treating the cancer lesion while avoiding the healthy tissue, diminishing as such the secondary effects which can occur sometimes after radical curative treatments of prostatic tumours (secondary effect at the érectile and functional levels). This technique is reserved for lowly to moderately-aggressive tumours which cannot be simply monitored and for which a radical treatment such as radical prostatectomy or radiotherapy would be exaggerated. Besides the SIPC possessing and offering to our patients a highly performant imagery with a precise biopsy system, we always provide a  thorough monitoring with clinical, bioptic and regular imagery controls. We possess in our group a rigorous follow-up protocol allowing us to detect any eventual recurrences and to treat them either with a new focal therapy or with a radical treatment in order to obtain in the medium to long-term a satisfying oncological result.

We currently have available an ultrasound focalised treatment Focal One whose details are described below. It is a highly performant system allowing to treat in a focalised manner the prostatic tumours. We increase the precision of these treatments by using the possibility to integrate the results of the biopsies performed  either by perineal or transrectal fashion performed with our different systems (Biopsee, Uronave, Koelis) directly into the Focal One system. we can thus obtain a precise mapping in the treatment system itself, allowing an increased precision. This focal approach is of course multidisciplinary and the interaction between the urologist and the radiologist is of utmost importance.

The focal therapies are scheduled and performed in close coordination with Dr Martins-Favre, as she is in charge of the preparatory radiological reviews and follow-up. Our approach is original in the sense that the radiologist is involved in the treatment phase in order to make localisation and treatment of the targets more precise and performant.

Focal One®: revolutionary for treating prostate cancer

Focal One® is a computer-controlled medical device for the treatment of localised prostate cancer by focused ultrasound (HIFU = High Intensity Focused Ultrasound). The energy is delivered via an endorectal probe. The ultrasound waves travel through the rectal wall and are focused on a part of the prostate. This focusing produces intense heat, resulting in tissue destruction within the target area. The treatment lasts between 30 minutes and 2 hours and can be performed under loco-regional anaesthesia.

Focal One® is a non-invasive treatment option that allows for a precise, local treatment in one session, that can be repeated if necessary, with a short hospital stay and few side effects. In the event of incomplete results, the choice of therapeutic options is wide and includes retreatment with Focal One®.

Focal One® may be indicated as:

  • a first line option for patients with localised cancer, stage T1-T2 (Gleason 6 or 7, PSA less than 15), according to their age and general condition.
  • a salvage therapy option for patients with local recurrence of prostate cancer initially treated by radiotherapy.


HIFU for prostate cancer

HIFU uses a high intensity convergent ultrasound beam generated by piezoelectric transducers. This focusing of ultrasound waves into one point greatly increases the temperature around the focal point, thus resulting in tumour destruction i.e. pathological biological tissue.

The application of HIFU for prostate cancer treatment involves focusing high intensity focused ultrasound to destroy, by heat, prostatic tissue affected by cancer, without damaging surrounding tissue. This technique is non-invasive because it avoids incision, allows loco-regional anaesthesia and limits the characteristic complications of prostate cancer treatment (incontinence or impotence).

Clinical results

In 2013 and 2014, two prospective cohort studies demonstrated the long-term (10 years) results of whole gland HIFU as a first-line option and have validated its effectiveness: according to the cancer risk, the specific survival rate at 10 years is between 92 and 99%; survival rate without metastases at 10 years is between 86% and 100%. These results, which are completely comparable to the best radical surgery results, demonstrate that HIFU is an effective first-line treatment option for localised prostate cancer.


Other Therapies

 

 

As certain prostatic zones are hard to treat using focalised ultrasounds, we are currently developing alternative treatments such as laser, cryotherapy and electroporation. These methods are performed using a transpireneal approach, allowing to attain anterior targets inside voluminous prostates, much more easily than with focalised ultrasounds.

TRAITEMENTS / Traitements focal des cancers prostatiques

Ces dernières années le diagnostic qui concerne le cancer prostatique est devenu de plus en plus précis et performant grâce, d’une part au développement de l’IRM et, d’autre part à l’efficacité accrue des moyens bioptiques, biopsies de fusion voire biopsie sous IRM.

La possibilité d’avoir une cartographie précise de la prostate permet entre autre de planifier des traitements focaux des tumeurs prostatiques. Cette approche, contrairement à ce qui a été fait par le passé, consiste à traiter la lésion tumorale en épargnant le tissu sain diminuant ainsi les effets secondaires qui surviennent parfois après des traitements curatifs radicaux des tumeurs prostatiques, effets secondaires au niveau de l’érection et fonctionnel. Cette technique est réservée à des tumeurs faiblement ou moyennement agressives qui ne peuvent pas être simplement surveillées et pour lesquelles un traitement radical de type prostatectomie radicale ou radiothérapie serait exagéré. En plus de posséder une imagerie performante avec un système de biopsie précis, ce que le SIPC peut offrir, il faut bien entendu un suivi rigoureux avec des contrôles cliniques et bioptiques et par imagerie réguliers. Nous avons dans notre groupe un protocole de suivi rigoureux qui nous permet de déceler d’éventuelles récidives et de les traiter soit par une nouvelle thérapie focale, soit par un traitement radical afin d’obtenir à plus ou moins long terme un résultat oncologique satisfaisant.

Actuellement nous disposons d’un moyen de traitement par ultrasons focalisés Focal One dont les détails sont décrits ci-dessous, système performant qui permet de traiter d’une manière focalisée les tumeurs prostatiques. Nous augmentons la précision de ces traitements par la possibilité d’intégrer les résultats des biopsies effectuées par voie périnéale ou transrectale avec nos différents système (Biopsee, Uronave, Koelis) directement dans le système Focal One. Nous pouvons ainsi obtenir une cartographie précise dans le système de traitement même ce qui en optimise la précision. Cette approche focale est, bien entendu, multidisciplinaire et la collaboration entre l’urologue et le radiologue prend toute son importance.

Les thérapies focales sont planifiées et effectuées en étroite collaboration avec la Drsse Martins-Favre qui se charge des bilans radiologiques préopératoires et du suivi. Notre approche est originale par le fait que le radiologue est intégré dans la phase de traitement afin de rendre la localisation et le traitement des cibles très précis et performants.

Focal One®: révolutionnaire pour traiter le cancer de la prostate

Focal One® est un appareil médical piloté par ordinateur, destiné au traitement des cancers localisés de la prostate par ultrasons focalisés (HIFU= High Intensity Focused Ultrasound). L'énergie est délivrée par l'intermédiaire d'une sonde endorectale. Les ultrasons se propagent à travers la paroi rectale et sont focalisés sur une partie de la prostate. Cette focalisation produit une chaleur intense et provoque la destruction du tissu à l'intérieur de la zone ciblée. Le traitement dure entre 30 minutes et 2 heures et peut être réalisé sous anesthésie loco-régionale.

Focal One® est une option thérapeutique non invasive qui permet un traitement local précis en une session, répétable si nécessaire, avec une courte durée d'hospitalisation et peu d'effets indésirables. En cas de résultat incomplet, le choix des options thérapeutiques possibles est large et inclut le retraitement par Focal One®.

Focal One® peut être indiqué:

  • en première intention pour les patients porteurs d'un cancer localisé stade T1-T2 (Gleason 6 ou 7, PSA inférieur à 15) selon leur âge et leur état général;
  • en traitement de rattrapage pour les patients présentant une récidive locale d'un cancer de prostate initialement traité par radiothérapie.

La technique HIFU pour le cancer de la prostate

La technologie HIFU utilise un faisceau d'ultrasons convergents de haute intensité généré par des transducteurs piézoélectriques. La concentration des ultrasons focalisés en un seul point élève fortement la température autour du point focal et permet ainsi la destruction de la tumeur, c'est-à-dire le tissu biologique pathologique.

L'application de la technique HIFU au traitement du cancer de la prostate consiste à concentrer des ultrasons focalisés de haute intensité pour détruire, par la chaleur, le tissu prostatique touché par le cancer, sans endommager les tissus environnants. Cette technique est donc non invasive car elle évite l'incision, permet une anesthésie loco-régionale et limite les complications inhérentes au traitement du cancer de la prostate (incontinence ou impuissance).

Résultats cliniques

En 2013 et 2014, la publication de deux études rétrospectives de suivi de cohorte prospectif ont présenté les résultats à long terme (10 ans) du traitement total par HIFU en première intention et validé son efficacité: selon le risque du cancer, le taux de survie spécifique à 10 ans est compris entre 92 et 99%; le taux de survie sans métastases à 10 ans est compris entre 86% et 100%. Ces résultats, totalement comparables aux meilleurs résultats de la chirurgie radicale, démontrent que l'HIFU est une option thérapeutique efficace du traitement du cancer localisé de la prostate en première intention. 

Autres thérapies

Certaines zones prostatiques étant difficilement traitables par ultrasons focalisés nous développons actuellement une alternative de traitement comme le laser, la cryothérapie ou l’électroporation, ces dernières s’effectuant par un abord transpérinéale elles permettent  d’atteindre des cibles antérieures dans de volumineuses prostates de manière plus aisée que la thérapie par ultrasons focalisés.